DWT2012 Presents: The Smokin’ Rose of Texas Reply

What’s “slow smokin’, fast movin’, and melts-in-your-mouth”? Mobile BBQ from The Smokin’ Rose of Texas, of course!

Meet two smokin’ Texas women who took their BBQ show on the road with a truck and trailer to deliver what they call “mobile BBQ” at wineries, parks, family affairs, and large and small events around Central Texas. Owner Sanns Stevens says she and her partner, Carlotta Knapo, are looking forward to their first appearance at the Dripping with Taste Wine & Food Festival, and shared how they got their start, in her own words:

WHAT IS YOUR ROLE WITH THE DRIPPING WITH TASTE WINE & FOOD FESTIVAL 2012?

I am a specialty food (BBQ) vendor.

WHAT IS YOUR NAME & TITLE, AND/OR THE NAME OF YOUR BUSINESS? WHAT EXACTLY DO YOU DO?

My name is Sanns Stevens, owner/operator. My partner is Carlotta Knapo and we are The Smokin Rose of Texas (mobile BBQ vendor). We make real Texas BBQ by authentically slow smoking meats such as brisket, chicken, ribs, and sausage. I make most of the side dishes such as pinto beans and cole slaw and of course, I make my own sauce!

WHEN WAS YOUR BUSINESS ESTABLISHED? HOW DID YOU BECOME INVOLVED IN YOUR BUSINESS AND/OR ITS INDUSTRY?

We were established in March 2011. I’ve always enjoyed cooking for friends and decided to move forward in a professional way.

WHAT DID YOU DO PRIOR TO BECOMING INVOLVED WITH THIS BUSINESS? WHAT IS YOUR BACKGROUND AND/OR EDUCATION, TRAINING?

I’ve been in the food and beverage business for more than 20 years. I’ve been employed by Austin Wine Merchant and Twin Liquors in Austin, and also with several restaurants. With that employment, I learned a lot about wine and spirits, and love to talk about it and help educate people – and of course, drink it!

WHAT HAVE BEEN YOUR MOST NOTABLE ACHIEVEMENTS SO FAR, AND WHAT IS YOUR VISION FOR THE NEAR FUTURE?

Quitting my job and starting a business was a tough and scary thing. Using my contacts in the wine business, I was able to set up work with some of the local wineries and breweries. Now I have a full schedule throughout the year, but most of the work is on Saturdays, so I’d like to be able to find good work another day or two. My vision could lead to owning my own restaurant.

WHAT WILL YOU BE PRESENTING AT DWT2012 FOR FESTIVAL GUESTS?

I’ll be serving samples of brisket, chicken, ribs, and sausage with potato salad, cole slaw, and BBQ sauce.

WHAT IS YOUR EXPECTATION FOR THE 5TH ANNUAL DWT FESTIVAL? HAVE YOU PARTICIPATED IN PAST YEARS?

This will be my first year and I’m looking forward to being part of this nice community and making new friends, and maybe a few new contacts.

WHERE ARE YOU LOCATED?

We’re mobile! But from now on, on Fridays from 4-8pm, we will be set up at the lot next to Pedernales Falls State park. It’s BYOB and picnic tables. C’mon!

Visit the Smokin’ Rose of Texas online:

http://www.smokinroseoftexas.com

facebook.com/SmokinRoseOfTexas

@SmokinRoseofTX

_____________________________________________

Visit the Dripping with Taste Wine & Food Festival online:

http://www.DrippingWithTaste.com

Facebook.com/DrippingWithTaste

@DWTWineFoodFest

_____________________________________________

DWT2012 will be held at the Texas Hill Country Olive Company, 2530 W. Fitzhugh Road, Dripping Springs, TX

DWT2012 benefits the non-profit Dripping Springs Chamber of Commerce & Visitors Bureau. Thank you for your support!

Leave a comment